Cunning Plan

Hello readers.

I appear to have lost my fear of deadlines. Also, my will to write. I think it’s stressing about all the things I’m not doing but should be, mostly finding more work in Barcelona, and finding a job in Japan.

Deadlines are good. They usually make me work really hard so I get it done, if it’s only 20 hours until that deadline passes.

baldrickSo, here’s the plan. I’ve got about a week left at home, and then I’m back to Barcelona. So for the next two weeks, I don’t have to write, and I won’t be posting anything here. That’s right. But I will post something by October the 4th.

Several reasons. Maybe I’ll fear a bigger, more distant deadline more than I currently fear little ones that keep passing when I’m busy or away. Maybe I’ll write a whole load of stuff during the next two weeks, free from the pressure of deadlines, and then I’ll be able to upload little bits each week and keep ahead of the game.

Oh, and while I’m here, I’ll let you know I’m considering doing this year’s NaNoWriMo. NaNoWriMo stands for interNAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth (it was originally just National, but they liked the letters), where people write 50,000 words in the month of November. If you’re interested in more info, go here.

This will be my third attempt at this, November never being my best month for writing anyway. Also, on both previous occasions, I’ve used NaNoWriMo to help me kickstart some novel ideas I’ve already had. This time, I will do it by fully abiding to the rules of the game, and as such, the work I produce will probably be a whole load of junk. Still, it’s writing, and I need to write more.

Bye now for two weeks, keep well in my absence.

Leave a Reply

