Heat is Hot. (“How Fire Licks”, “Avant-Garde”)

Heat is hot. Did you know this? And not in the sexy way. I’ve heard the expression “it sucks me dry”, and maybe it does some places, but Barcelona has a humid heat, much worse this year than last. I think here, I sweat all my energy out.

And then, this evening, I went to a comedy meeting, and tried to be funny for 3 and a half hours, which robbed me of what little energy I retained.

I had the grand old scheme of writing a short story in serial. In fact, I have 2 stories that could be candidates for this. Two stories that I’ve plotted out, and know what’s going to happen, so I’m just missing words on a page. And, now that I think about it, a third that sitting there, in need of a dustin’ and a postin’.

However, since none of these has more than 2 coherent consecutive paragraphs, that will have to wait, and today, I’ll dredge the old cupboards for something else. Pictures to follow when I’m more awake or not busy (i.e. not tonight or tomorrow)

I’ve dredged, and I’ve got two shorties for you.

How Fire Licks

How Fire Licks
How Fire Licks

a

The salamander’s tongue is

dry as it licks

at the blackened edges

that shrivel, shrinking

from its burning touch

a

like your thin tongue

licks your soft lips

– but can’t reach your

smouldering eyes.

a

a

a

And secondly, a little silly:

a

Avant-Garde

a

A poem aboutbook page stone
writing a poem?
It’s been done.

a
How about a
poem about
a poem about
writing a poem?
How novel.

A novel?
No.

Leave a Reply

