Disentangle

It’s been a busy week, busier than usual. I’ve dedicated myself to posting once Mid-Week (so Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday) and once at the Weekend. That said, my Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays have been my busiest days, and Friday, usually very busy, is empty of plans. It’s “Labor Day” (to translate to American) here in Barcelona, so classes are cancelled.

That said, I shouldn’t accept excuses from myself, especially not this early in the game. Planning ahead, getting work done ahead of deadline – skills I don’t have, but I might as well use this blog as a chance to practice and learn to organise myself.

So here’s an old poem that I’ve recently been looking at and trying to tighten up. It’s called “Disentangle”, and it actually has a partner poem (“Enrage”) that’s supposed to go before it. However, that one’s in a much sorrier state, so I’ll post this one, and if I ever fix that one, I’ll put it up too.

Disentangle

Disentanglea

a

I see now, as I step away,
that that sick feeling
tight in my stomach
was knots. A tangled train
of thoughts – each intention
thwarted by the next
or the last, creating my
imperfect whole,

aaaaaaaaaaaso as I walk
away, I breathe out, and
slowly the rope uncoils
behind me, each part drawn
out onto the path, laid out
in an unfrayed line.

When I need to return,
I pick up the threads neatly.

2 thoughts on “Disentangle”

Leave a Reply

